I Can Speak Gibberish. Can You?

You know what bugs me about some churches? When they teach that speaking in tongues is a necessary part of salvation. Or that it comes to everyone when you’re saved.

Which isn’t true.

Seriously, have they read the Bible…?

First off is 1 Corinthians 12: 1-11. There it clearly states that different people are given different spiritual gifts. There is no one gift that is automatic if you get saved.

And then 1 Corinthians 14, where Paul is saying that he would LIKE for everyone to speak in tongues, but that won’t happen. Also, that someone must interpret what is being said, so that it means something.

Speaking in tongues is inspired by God and always serves a purpose. There has to be an interpreter, so that everyone may know what is being said. If there isn’t an interpreter, whatever mumbo-jumbo is spewing from your mouth probably ain’t from God.

Paul also says it is the least desirable of the gifts.

What gets me is that, with those kinds of churches, people only speak in tongues on Sunday. In church. With other people around them speaking tongues. And no one translating. I think it’s an emotional thing or something. Church hype. I don’t know. I just know that it has never ever happened in my conservative church and lots of those people are definitely Christian, and are definitely saved.

I realize that there are some people who really do speak in tongues, or who really do prophesy or whatever, but it’s just not as common, or necessary, as some churches would have you believe.

I’m saved. I can’t speak in tongues. Does that mean I’m not a Christian? Of course not.

If you can actually speak in tongues, good on ya. But I’m just wary because there seems to be a lot of people faking it.

Read your Bibles, guys. Have a great one!

Whatcha thinking?

