Get up and Walk

There is more than one way to lead someone to Jesus. My way is not the only one, it is the way I am best at. Your way is not the only way, it is the way you are best at.

Yes, Jesus is the only way to Heaven, but there’s lots of paths to get to Jesus.

Matthew 9:2-8 and Mark 2:1-12 talk about the paralytic that was healed because his friends cared for him so much they lowered a couch through a tiled roof (not straw like most pictures depict). They must’ve been really determined friends and their faith led to the man being forgiven and healed.

The first thing to notice is that Jesus’ first concern was the man’s sins. He forgave them first. God is concerned with the state of our heart above all else. He wants us to be in Heaven with Him one day, but that won’t happen if our heart is corrupted by unrepentented sin. So Jesus forgave the man’s sin before healing Him to put the emphasis on the importance of how sin affects us.

Jesus did NOT say “I love you. It’s all ok. You are beautiful in God’s sight. Go be happy and joyous.” He said “You’re sins are forgiven. Now get up and walk.” And do you think that man repented from his sins? I’m willing to put money on it. If I was paralyzed (and many people believe it was because of his sins that he was paralyzed) and God incarnate walked by and said “You are forgiven, Go walk home.” you can be sure I wouldn’t ever go back to the sins that had paralyzed me. Repentance is one of the most important parts of a true faith. Without it, you are not following God. It’s like people have stopped realizing that it is something that is required if you actually want to follow Christ. Your sin is NOT ok. My sin is NOT ok. We must repent.

Then Jesus heard and felt people questioning His authority, so Jesus healed the paralyzed man and told him to walk away. But the sin had to be dealt with first.

The scribes and the Pharisees (you know, all the hypocrites and people who would later crucify God in the flesh.) talked amongst themselves saying “Who is this? Only God has the power to heal and forgive sins.” We look back at them and say they were dumb to not see who Jesus was, which they were, but it’s because they were so stuck in what they believed and what they were taught and what they FELT was right, that they didn’t let the Bible change their mind. Jesus was constantly quoting the Old Testament, He even pointed out which prophecies He fulfilled. The Pharisees refused to be open to the answers in the Bible that they maybe hadn’t found yet.

Now, I’m not saying I have the power of Jesus (No way) but I do have the power to voice my thoughts and beliefs and speak up for what God has shown me is right and wrong. God doesn’t talk directly to people anymore, He talks through them. I pray that He talks through me and my blog and believe He is doing just that. He gives me the verses to use, the passages to focus on and I am so thankful. I have learned so much from blogging for Him.

Whatcha thinking?

