Let’s Toss Him off a Cliff

Have you ever wanted to throw someone off a cliff?

Luke 4:16-27 talks about Jesus making people so incredibly mad that they wanted to toss Him over a cliff.

You now what He did? He went to the synagogue on Sabbath and read from the Old Testament. I encourage you to read the passage to get the whole story.

Jesus read a prophecy from Isaiah about Himself, actually, pointing out who He was and what His mission was.

He recognized the authority of the Old Testament.

Jesus was in His hometown and He knew that His people were going to ask Him to perform the kind of miracle he had other places. But he said that His hometown wasn’t the place to do it and he quoted Old Testament stories about Elijah and Elisha.

His people got so mad that they literally drove Jesus out of town, to the edge of a cliff, and were about to throw Him off. Jesus eluded them and walked away.

He didn’t apologize for making them angry. He didn’t try and appease them. He knew He was in the right, so He just walked away.

Jesus made people angry and it wasn’t a sin. He did not do it on purpose, they got angry because they were convicted or because they were so set in their ways that they didn’t want to budge, not even for God.

My goal for this blog is not to upset people, contrary to what I’ve been accused of. It is not to judge people, contrary to popular belief as well. My goal is to spread the Word of God. And I’m sorry, but if you are a Christian, shouldn’t that make you happy?! I use Bible verses in context for it, it is not simply my feelings, like many Christians are entirely too reliant upon.

I am trying. I am trying so hard to do what God has called us all to do. Why do you attack me for it? What is more loving than sharing God’s Word? What is more loving than leading people to Him? Answer me that before you accuse me of being hateful.

Whatcha thinking?

