I Am….

A  Bible-believing Christian.

A Conservative.

An Anti-Feminist.

Pro-life.

Anti-Racist (Which is not exclusively white-black. Everyone is capable of racism.)

A dancer.

A writer.

A teacher.

In love.

I have no reason to hide or be ashamed of any of these. And I am certainly allowed to speak out for what I believe in. More Christians ought to start speaking against sin more, it is Biblical. Maybe if we had kept that practice up, the world wouldn’t be quite as bad as it is now.

I am proud of who I am. I am firmly rooted in my beliefs. I encourage you to take a look at what you believe and whether or not it is Biblical. I can give you verses supporting all my positions, verses in context. If you, as a Christian, can’t do that then it might be time to look a little closer at what you believe.

I am saying this in love, because I do worry for Christians who believe things contradictory to the Bible, such as abortion and gay rights. Pray about your beliefs and what you should believe and speak out for. I do, though I probably should more often.

Have a fantastic day everyone.

12 thoughts on “I Am….

  1. I believe in the person at the center of the New Testament – Jesus. Jesus didn’t hand his apostles the Bible. Rather, he says to Peter, “I give you the keys to the kingdom of heaven.” In other words, he founded a church. A church that didn’t have a Bible until that same church compiled it just before 400 A.D.

    To really understand what Jesus wanted from us, you have to look before the Bible. Look at the church he founded. Look at the writings from Christians at that time to understand the Christianity that Jesus founded.

    But that’s just me. And every other Catholic as well.

    Like

    • God gave us the Bible to live by, not other writings. Plus, Jesus based his ministry off the Old Testament. And Jesus is most definitely the ultimate role model, God in the flesh, the perfect man. While the Bible wasn’t fully pu together at Jesus’ time, the writings in the New Testament were still written at His time and immediately after. The writings aren’t from 400 ad. They are from Jesus’ time.
      I would much rather look to Jesus than the church he founded because people sin and mess up God’s perfection. People messed up the church. Jesus was perfect. So I will follow His example as closely as possible, and that example is best shown in the Bible.
      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jesus based his ministry off of Himself, because he is the Second person of the Trinity. So if you look to Jesus, you look to what he did. And he founded the church. And he said that he would send the Holy Spirit to guide the church and that “the gates of Hell will not prevail against is.” Even though it was, and still is, composed of humans who are admittedly not perfect. That’s the reason for his promise to send the Holy Spirit. So if you follow Jesus, you follow his Church.

        By claiming that “God gave us the Bible to live by” you are acknowledging the Church’s authority to compile the Bible among all the many, many writings about Jesus in existence at the time, and you acknowledge God working through the Church … but somehow the Church’s authority began and ended with the compilation of Scripture? Despite Jesus founding it and sending the Holy Spirit to guide it? That really doesn’t make much sense.

        Yes Jesus is the perfect role model, but again we have to look to what he actually did. And he did not leave us the Bible.

        Like

      • You misunderstood me. The authority of the Bible is still there. I believe every word of the church.And yes, of course I follow Jesus’ church, but the church has made mistakes, such as accepting homosexuality instead of warning people that it is a sin. In cases like that, you must double-check thhings with what Jesus said in the New Testament.
        It was not the church that really compiled scripture though, is it? It was God.
        However, I simply do not understand why it is wrong for me to follow Jesus’ actions instead of the church’s. I still listen to my pastor. I acknowledge the authority of the church. But men sin, the church sins, pastors sin, the Pope sins, every single human being who ever lived sinned EXCEPT for one; Jesus. I will follow the example of His actions, I will try to be Christ-like, like the Bible teaches.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “It was not the church that really compiled scripture though, is it? It was God.”

    Let’s back up – what do you mean by this? How exactly do you think we got the Bible?

    Like

      • You didn’t really answer the question. Here’s the thing – the books in the Bible were not the only writings at that time. Not even close. They weren’t even the only writings about Jesus or creation or anything. How do you think the writings for the Bible were selected (out of all writings available) and compiled into the Bible?

        Keep in mind that God didn’t hand anyone a perfectly formed, perfectly compiled Bible. Also keep in mind that there was no Bible for 400 years after Jesus ascended back into Heaven.

        Like

      • Yes, I am aware. But I believe God guided the hands of those who put the Bible, as we know it today, together. And at Jesus’ time they had some version of the Old Testament. I do not know how complete it was though. But if you don’t think that God put together the Bible we know today, then how do you know to put your trust in it? It says in the Bible that in the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God, so I’m positive that God knew how His Bible would turn out, His Word. He had a plan for what he would leave us.

        Like

  3. So then, how did Christianity exist for 400 years without a Bible? The Jewish Old Testament contains none of the teachings of Christ after all.

    And how do you trust the people that compiled the Bible? They are sinners too after all. Why do you accept their judgment in putting the Bible together but for nothing else?

    I saw a funny paraphrasing of Matthew 28:19 not long ago under the hashtag #ThingsJesusneversaid – “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all the nations by handing them a book and letting them figure out, with no guidance from you, what it all means.”

    Obviously that’s not what Jesus actually said, but Protestant Christianity acts as if that were what he said.

    Like

    • Like I said, they still had the Old Testament and teachings passed down, I’m sure.
      Also, I told you that I believe God knew exactly how His Bible would turn out, and I trust that it came out the way he meant it.
      I disagree with your view on Protestant Christianity. Obviously I’m not just handing people Bible verses. If you read my posts, I give my thoughts on them and thoughts on how we should act. As do the majority of Protestant pastors and missionaries.
      You never did answer my question though. How do you think the Bible was put together?
      And while there may be other writings, we still have a certain selection of Jesus’ teachings and that’s what I’m trying to follow. I don’t see the point in following man instead of God. Do you follow God’s example or the example that your church provides? Just curious, since you have questioned me so much.

      Like

  4. I’ve already explained how I think the Bible was put together, but I’ll summarize it again. Before I do, though, the more important idea is the question of what role the Bible should play in our lives. If you assert that a plain, layman’s reading of a particular English translation of the Bible is sufficient for all your theology and for directing your entire life, I really think you ought to have a good grasp of how and why the Bible came to be. Something with more depth than just “Oh God just took care of it all.”(*)

    Anyway, as I explained earlier, Jesus founded a Church. He handed Peter the “keys to the kingdom,” left his apostles in charge, promised to send them the Holy Spirit to guide them, and then said, “Peace, out.” Again, at this time there was no Bible. The primary means of teaching and spreading Christianity was oral tradition as well as an unorganized pile of writings from the apostles and various disciples. When they would gather for worship they would read a few selections from any of these texts and then celebrate the Eucharist. The apostles, with the authority given to them by Jesus and guided by the Holy Spirit, continued to teach, appoint bishops to oversee the faithful, and lead worship. They also continued to work through understanding What Just Happened to them and how that translated into our understanding of God and the meaning of life. The apostles didn’t live forever (obviously) so they continued to appoint bishops to carry on their work leading the Church. Now, the Holy Spirit, in its infinite wisdom, didn’t decide that the Church needed a single, unified collection of writings to read from during worship for 400 years. But when it did, the bishops gathered at the Council of Hippo in 393 to decide which writings should be included. Note that the Bible was never intended to supplant the authority of the apostles and the guidance of the Holy Spirit. It couldn’t possibly have been – as I said earlier, if the Bible were intended to be the Only Authority, it would have been there from the beginning. And it wasn’t.

    How do I know this to be true? By reading other writings from the beginning of Christianity. That is how you figure out what Christianity is supposed to look like. The Bible is not useful for this because it was not compiled until after the liturgy and the ritual of the Church was well-established.(**)

    (*) Not trying to be harsh here, I’m really not. But I can’t think of a way to phrase this in a softer way without impairing what I’m trying to say.

    (**) More info here: http://www.amazon.com/Where-Bible-Debt-Catholic-Church/dp/0895557967

    Like

    • I vry much appreciate you explaining your viewpoint, but as a Protestant discussing this with a Catholic, I think it would probably be best it we should just agree that we have different viewpoints on the importance of the Bible, just slightly. The important part is that we both believe in Jesus and salvation, don’t you agree?

      Like

Whatcha thinking?

