Christmas Traditions

Christmas Eve is tomorrow.

Christmas Eve already.

This time of year brings about celebrations of the birth of Christ, of family, friends, and food.

Every family has their traditions no matter how small or seemingly insignificant. They are what make this time of year rise above any other.

For my family it starts on Christmas Eve with our Christmas dinner. Afterwards we attend our church’s Candlelight Service, a lovely time of singing Christmas hymns, which I adore.

We come home to dessert and possibly a Christmas movie. Before bed we read three stories, starting with the original Christmas story, the birth of Jesus Christ. That is followed by ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas, and then our family favorite; How the Grinch Stole Christmas, complete with facial expressions and voices from my mother.

grinchie

My little brother and I head to bed, but I’m usually the only one sleeping for a while. Christmas starts with Josh waking me up around 4. We aren’t allowed to our parents up before 5,  so he tries to get me to play games and such.

Amidst going through stockings and opening presents, we eat lil’ smokies and homemade cinnamon rolls. Afterwards my mother makes her absolutely divine biscuits and gravy.

presents

The rest of our lazy Christmas Day is spent talking to family over the phone, figuring out our presents and watching old movies, my favorite being Elvis movies.

Christmas is a great time of year to spend time with your family and remember what all God has given to us.

nativity

What are some of your Christmas traditions? Or do you celebrate Hanukkah? I’d love to hear some stories!

Whatcha thinking?

