You mad, bro?

Ok, I get it. I’m a controversial person.

I post things you might not like.

However, I’m very open about how I’m a Christian and these posts are from a Christian viewpoint. If all you’re going to do is insult me and try to tear apart my argument, even if you run out of points, then go find another blogger to try and destroy. Feel free to read, but please don’t be so rude in the comments.

If you are actually open to other people’s opinions and Christianity, then I do encourage you to read and comment. I love a nice discussion.

What gets me is when someone gets on me, telling my opinion is **** and to get my *** off  the internet and that they don’t give a flying **** about my opinion… well then I get a little annoyed.

Seriously, if you don’t care about my opinion, why are you getting so worked up about it?

Because I do my very best to be polite and understanding when conversing with people about my blog. And if you want to get anywhere with me, then stop insulting me. Don’t accuse me of being hateful and judgmental when I’m simply putting my beliefs into words.

You don’t see me cussing you out, saying your opinion is stupid, or telling you to stop shoving your religion down my throat.

A little respect is all I’m asking for.

So, you mad bro? Don’t tell me unless you can control yourself. Common courtesy, folks.

10 thoughts on “You mad, bro?

  1. I just want to point out…”You don’t see me cussing you out, saying your opinion is stupid, or telling you to stop shoving your religion down my throat.”

    When in an earlier post… “Even if you’re just mildly feminist, for abortion privileges and stuff, it’s stupid.”

    Hi, I’m a Catholic-Wiccan Bisexual Pro-Choice Feminist, and I respectfully disagree with your opinions.

    Like

    • My bad, I slipped up once, thank you for pointing that out. I’m not perfect. I am very careful about that normally. Though, what I was trying to say was that abortion privileges are not ok.
      Could you please explain to me how Catholic-Wiccan works? Because those are very, very, very conflicting religions. It seems to me that you have to be one or the other.

      Like

    • Or, for that matter, how you can be a Bisexual, Pro-choice Catholic. I know the Catholic Bible is a little different than I’m used to, but I don’t think it’s so different that it presents either of those things in a positive light.

      Like

  2. Hello again! I’m sorry for the delay in my reply; I was driving and didn’t want to pick up the phone behind the wheel. Then I got distracted by a bologna sandwich. Anyway, I guess I want to start off by saying thank you for commenting in a way that was not insulting in manner.

    I identify as a Catholic-Wiccan Bisexual Pro-Choice Feminist. I will answer these point by point, so this may get a bit lengthy; my aim in this answer is not to preach, but to explain.

    I was born and raised Catholic. I was actually raised to see it as Catholic-Christian, but when I was a teenager I moved to an area where Catholics and Christians were considered different sects. In Catholicism, various rites are practiced through the various stages of a Catholic’s life; the Seven Sacraments. After having experienced Baptism, Confession, Communion, and Confirmation, I am a recognized Catholic. This is what I list when I fill out forms. I feel proud when I do the sign of the cross (Catholic gesture over forehead, heart, left shoulder, right shoulder) and sometimes, I will do it when I pass cemeteries or churches as a symbol of respect. I do not go to church as regularly as the religion calls for, and some would call me a Christmas-Catholic (only going to church on Christmas), and they would not be wrong. But I do pray in private. I try to respect the tradition of the Lenten season (forty days before Easter), and I refrain from eating meat on Christmas Eve (a Polish-Catholic tradition). I attended a Catholic high school and a Catholic university, so this religious background has been with me from childhood to adulthood.

    Before I continue, I want you to envision a tree. The trunk of the tree is who I am as a person, and Catholicism is my network of roots beneath my feet; this religion was the water, the nutrients, and fertilizer with which I grew up when I was a tiny seed. Now, with my roots fully formed beneath me and my Self standing tall, I will now explain my branches.

    I have always been attracted to Wicca, and I made the active decision to call myself one back in 2011. For lack of better terminology, I experienced the paranormal in snippets throughout my life. As I grew up, I found that my family, on both sides, has had experiences with the paranormal as well. I do not wish to go into explicit detail in that regard, but I will say that Wicca has helped explain these things to me, and I found comfort in that. I believe in the energy of all things, and the partnerships of those energies. As I got older, I found it harder and harder to swallow that only one religion could be the True religion, with so many races and civilizations that came before and after Christianity; I personally believe that every religion has some essence of truth, and they all come together to create the Truth. This is how I balance the two very different beliefs.

    On a side note, I also believe that God is above gender, and is neither (or maybe both) male and female. I will not know this until my time on Earth is over, but until then, this is what makes sense to me. Jesus called God “Father,” but the Bible was written back in a world that was even more patriarchal than today’s society, so I find it very possible that the Bible was written for a male audience. (I graduated university with a degree in English, so I prefer to look at texts of all religions as literature; going off of that, I personally cannot completely trust a book that has been translated and rewritten over the centuries for a plethora of purposes.)

    I have always been attracted to both men and women (including transgendered individuals), but I did not consciously recognize it as Bisexuality until this time last year. When I realized it, I felt free. I felt as if I had found and befriended myself. I accepted myself. I am engaged, and it just so happened that the person with whom I fell in love is a straight man. As far as this tying in with my religious beliefs; Jesus stood for love, and sat at the same table as prostitutes and tax payers. It is my belief that if he were here today, he would be sitting with and befriending the LGBTQIAP+ community, among others deemed “morally wrong” in this society. Wicca is a very tolerant belief, as the only guideline is “harm none, do what ye will,” so it doesn’t create much friction, if any, with my other beliefs.

    I have been pro-choice as long as I have been a Feminist (since 2012), but I will discuss my pro-choice stance first. (For the sake of clarity, I did not concentrate on politics from 2009-2012 so I could look at all different kinds of beliefs without bias; after careful evaluation of my own beliefs, this was the result.) I will admit that this is where there is some friction between this belief and Catholicism/Christianity. In this regard, I choose my pro-choice belief, and let me explain. Pro-choice does not necessarily mean “Pro-Abortion;” rather, it means pro-any-choice-a-person-makes. In regards to the conception of a fetus, if the woman wants to get an abortion, I believe she should have that decision over her body. If the woman wants to go through with the pregnancy and give it up for adoption, I believe she should have that choice. If she decides to have the baby and raise it, then I believe she should have that choice. It is not my place to judge her reasoning for making any of those decisions, as it is not my body. In regard to abortion, it is going to happen whether it is illegal or not. There are so many women who have died because of back-alley abortions, or raped in basement procedures. I am pro-choice because I believe that if a woman makes a decision, she should have the option to go through with it in a clean and safe environment.

    Finally, I am a Feminist. Just like there are radical Christians and radical Muslims and radical anything-ists, there are radical feminists. I, personally, am not radical anything. I am not an extremist, and I usually fall somewhere in the middle of a given spectrum. I am of the belief that feminism has a different definition for everyone, and my personal definition is equalism with a feminine lens and concentration. Feminism is not out to create a world where women are better than men; it is the recognizing of a patriarchal society and how it hurts both men and women. Feminism, in its current third wave form, is meant for all genders with the endgame of equality, and that is the feminism I stand for. There is a short book I really like and highly recommend called “We Should All Be Feminists” by acclaimed writer Chimamanda Adichie. The title may be a little off-putting, but it defines feminism in a way that takes away the stereotype of the bra-burning, man-hating sasquatch-ian.

    I consider each of these a part of my identity. Yes, it’s complex and confusing and possibly an example of cherry-picking beliefs. But life is complex and confusing and so are people, and there’s beauty in that. I know, in my heart and down to my soul, that this is what I believe and what I am. Some people hate labels and find them constraining; I find labels liberating. I know what I believe and what I stand for, and this collection of words just happens to define those beliefs. While growing up, I realized that the world is not as black and white as people like to think it is; I learned to love the shades of gray of the world and of myself. Defining myself in my own way has been very liberating, and never before have I been this confident in myself.

    Like

Whatcha thinking?

