“Be more like Jesus”

So, I had someone accuse of me not “being like Jesus” a few posts ago because I posted about something controversial and it came across as offensive to some people.

However, I was not hateful or condemning. So I very much did not appreciate that comment.

This IS me trying to be like Jesus. He did not just sit in the corner and say how much he accepted everybody’s sin and that we should never hold each other accountable.

Guys, Jesus got angry. He flipped tables. He called the Pharisee’s out on their hypocrisy. He tried to get people to see their sins so that they could repent.

This idea that Christians are never supposed to offend people is ridiculous. That’s how we got where we are today, with churches condoning homosexuality, and this whole idea that all Christians are supposed to do is love everyone.

Of course loving other people is important. But part of loving someone is steering them away from what they’re doing wrong, not letting them continue on.

So you know what? I think I’m doing a pretty ok job of getting out there and talking about things that need to be talked about.

I’m not saying I’m the perfect reincarnation of Jesus, far from it, but I’m tired of passive Christians and I don’t want to be one.

Any thoughts?

Whatcha thinking?

