Pro-Woman, Anti-Feminist

“Men should not hold doors open for women, we can take care of ourselves. That is, as long as we make these same men pay for our morning-after pill and abortions after we’re irresponsible about our personal lives.”

I am disgusted with my fellow women, especially with these ridiculous ads going on the radio saying one politician or another doesn’t support women’s rights.

Please.

I’m all for women’s rights, trust me. Yeah we can work, we can vote. But I’m sorry, men should not be catering to us.

Just kidding, not sorry.

For one thing, that’s completely contradictory to the whole feminist thing. They want to be superior to men, but at the same time they still want men to care of them, just in different ways.

Even if you’re just mildly feminist, for abortion privileges and stuff, it’s stupid.

Without getting into abortion too much, which is in fact murder, if you were irresponsible enough to get yourself pregnant, then deal with the consequences. No one should have to fund your abortion, or the morning-after pill which is just as bad as abortion since you take it after conception.

Another point is the insane idea that women don’t make as much money as men in the workforce. By the way, this is not true. The statistics they give are typically in a specific job or as nation, where less women work. They’re not giving you hourly wages or salaries, they’re giving you collective totals to make you buy into the lie.

A different, more subtle aspect of the feminist movement is taking place in the churches. Women should not be taking leading roles in the church. It is against biblical principles. The women aren’t the only ones at fault however. Men need to step up and take their places in the church.

The men should be the pastors, the worship leaders, the ones who organize the events, much more than women. I’m not saying women should fade into the background, but we need to remember our roles.

As the title says, I’m absolutely pro-woman. Women are awesome. But I’m so very anti-feminist.

Before I get a bunch of hate comments or whatever, these are my opinions. (Besides the abortion thing. That’s murder. It’s a sin. It’s evil. That’s a fact.)

Let me know what you think about the super-feminism movement and women’s roles in the church.

55 thoughts on “Pro-Woman, Anti-Feminist

  1. As soon as you say “I believe women are equal to men, but they should be subordinate here, here, and here” you are not for equality. Either women are equal to men, or women should be subordinate in church. You can’t have it both ways.
    Though the fact that you think feminists want to be superior to men shows that you clearly have no idea what you’re talking about. Feminism is about equality of the sexes, not about one sex being superior to the other.
    The morning after pill doesn’t work once conception has occurred. That’s why it has to be taken within 72 hours of having sex. It works by hardening the outside of the egg so that the sperm can’t penetrate it. So no, it is not abortive.

    Like

    • I never said women are equal to men or should be. I believe they have rights, but we are not equal. There are plenty of feminists who want to be superior to men, but I didn’t say they all want to be. Please don’t fill in words. Thanks fro commenting though!

      Like

      • Could you provide some evidence? You’ve made a lot of claims in your post, but you never supplied any evidence to suggest why any of your claims should be accepted as true.
        There are radicals in every group. Should we judge all Christians by the words and actions of Westborrow Baptist Church? If you don’t think we should, why are you so willing to judge all feminists by the few you believe women should be superior to me?

        Like

      • I’m not judging all feminists by how they appear over the media, and I said there were also not so radical feminists. But my evidence for my arguments is all over social media and the radio, women saying how abortion should be provided for them whenever they want it, which is my main point in this article. That’s a huge thing for the feminist movement. I’m sure there are some feminists who don’t want abortion rights, but the vast majority do, correct?
        Again, I’m not judging all feminists, that is not my place, my I’m taking offense by the things they push and I wanted to address because it bothers me very much.

        Like

      • Abortion is a big thing depending on where you live. In the US, where abortion clinics are being forced to shut down in droves, yes it’s a big deal. But I don’t think you understand why feminists care.
        Nobody is pro-abortion. Nobody wants women to go out and have abortions. But making abortion illegal won’t stop it. And there are legitimate reasons to have an abortion. The most obvious being health problems. There are women whose lives are put in danger as a result of pregnancy. There are fetuses that will never be able to survive, or will never be able to lead good lives outside of the womb. In these cases, abortion may be the best possible answer. In other cases, abortion may be the best option for other reasons. There are teenage girls, 16, 17, 18 years old, or even younger, who find out they’re pregnant and (in the US) have to go to a judge to get an abortion in order to keep the unborn child away from their abusive family who would make them keep the baby. Though most abortions are actually undergone by women who have already had children. These women usually have found themselves in a difficult situation where they cannot afford more children and seek an abortion in order to ensure that their current children don’t suffer. These aren’t only the reasons that people seek abortions today, but they are also the reason why people got them prior to abortion being legalized. Is it better that these women die? Abortion clinics keep them alive and healthy. That is why feminists care about legal abortion.
        I wouldn’t get my information from the media if I were you: they are a business whose main interest is making money. They will exaggerate and even lie to sell a story. If you want to know the truth about abortions ad feminism there are far better places to get it from.
        If you’re willing to read these, they might help you understand the abortion debate a bit better. Many of them are actual studies about why women get abortions, but I’ve also added some articles from more left-wing media sources. Not that they aren’t also bias, but it might help you see the other side of the argument.
        http://www.guttmacher.org/pubs/journals/2411798.html
        http://www.biomedcentral.com/content/pdf/1472-6874-13-29.pdf
        http://www.motherjones.com/politics/2014/07/teen-abortion-judicial-bypass-parental-notification
        http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/03/us/appeals-court-ruling-closes-13-abortion-clinics-in-texas.html?_r=0
        http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2014/10/03/court-upholds-texas-abortion-law-closing-13-clinics/
        http://www.guttmacher.org/pubs/sfaa/texas.html
        http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/03/texas-abortion-clinics_n_5927698.html
        http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/10/the-cost-of-driving-to-an-abortion/381985/

        Like

      • Abortion is always wrong. There’s no way around that. It is murder, which is a sin. Yes there are health problems with pregnancies sometimes, but I do not believe God would let someone become pregnant with the purpose of killing the baby before it is born, even if there are birth defects. God can work miracles, and you just have to let Him.
        And if women don’t want to get pregnant, then don’t have sex. I mean, I get it, it’s sex, but if you can’t be careful then just don’t.
        Concerning teenage abortions, again, maybe if girls would stop sleeping around it wouldn’t be a problem, but if they do get pregnant, they need to live with the consequences. It’s basic common sense “I don’t want to get pregnant… hm, maybe I should have sex with my boyfriend.”
        Maybe abortion isn’t a big deal with all feminists, but you can’t argue that it isn’t a huge part of the feminist movement.

        Like

      • If anything were as simple as you seem to think it is, then there would never be any tough decisions to make in life. Who are you to tell anyone what is or isn’t appropriate to do with their own body?
        There is nothing wrong with having sex. It’s a perfectly natural part of life. And unexpected pregnancies can happen regardless of how careful you are with contraceptives. And not having sex isn’t always the best option.
        You’re still just a kid. You haven’t yet experienced the difficult choices that come with being an adult. Maybe when you have you’ll be less judgmental and more understanding. Maybe you’ll learn to be more “Christ-like.”

        Like

      • No, I don’t think it’s simple, I believe it’s probably very hard to decide to have an abortion, at least I hope it is. I’m not telling anyone what to do with their body, but a little common sense wouldn’t hurt. And there is so much wrong with sex before marriage. After marriage if you try your hardest to not get pregnant and you do, then maybe that’s just what God has in store for you and maybe you should not fight it.
        Just because I’m not quite an adult (though there’s nothing supremely magical about the number 18) doesn’t I don’t know what I’m talking. This feminism movement affects teenagers, it affects Christians, it affects me. I’m allowed to speak up about it. I’m not being judgmental about people, I’m judging the sin that comes with it.
        This is me being “Christ-like”. Jesus did not sit in the corner and condone sin. He spoke out against it. True, I have not mastered his loving way of doing, I’m still figuring stuff out, but at least I’m trying to follow in His steps.

        Like

      • I’m not saying there’s anything magical about being 18. But the world seems far more black and white when you don’t have to worry about bills, and rent, and having to bring home that paycheck. And it’s a lot easier to empathize with someone who has had to have an abortion when you realize that it’s not as simple as “well you just shouldn’t have sex,” which was basically your argument.
        You have the right to speak your mind, but you don’t have the right to hurt others. Your words are hurtful. You are making very mean claims about people whose situation you know nothing about. What is worse, you are making those claims without any apparent interest in hearing the other side of things. That’s not fair. You are not being pro-woman.
        Jesus may not condone sin, but what did he say about passing judgment? Wasn’t it something along the lines of “let he who is without sin cast the first stone”? Are you without sin?
        Think about it. Think about the words you’re using. Think about the effect they can have. And think about how you would feel if someone was passing that judgment on you.

        Like

      • I have listened to the other side of things, and I’m very sorry if I came across as mean-spirited, I’m just very passionate about these issues.
        As far as passing judgment, I do not feel I am judging other people. I am judging the sin. And Christians are supposed to keep each other accountable.
        If you don’t think I deal with judgment, then you’re wrong. I’m dealing with judgment right now, a lot of it, for speaking up against the abortion and feminism.
        I’m sorry, but if you think I am too juvenile to write about this, then why are you reading my blog? Why are you arguing with me? If I don’t know what I am talking about, then why do you bother? I’m just curious.

        Like

      • At what point did I say you were too juvenile? I said you’re look at this too simplistically.
        Tell me this: why do you talk to people you think are wrong? Do you really need me to tell you why I’m talking to you?

        Like

      • Again, your age is relevant in that you have no way of knowing the true complexity of these situations. This is obvious in the simplicity you are applying to the conversation, which is based around a topic in which there is no simple answer.

        Like

      • It’s really not. Choosing to have an abortion is not an easy decision. It’s not a decision that anyone wants to make. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t legitimate reasons to have one. Read those women’s stories. Can you honestly say you wouldn’t struggle with the decision if you were in their situation?

        Like

      • There are a lot of women who say they’d never have an abortion. But they find themselves unable to justify any other choice. In their mind, it is far better for their child to abort than it is to let the baby suffer. You may believe you’d never abort now, but you never know what you’ll do until you’re actually in that situation.

        Like

      • I’m sorry, but I have aunt who was born with several problems. She is happily married, has two kids, and is living a full life. Are you trying to tell me that she did not deserve life because she would have been in misery?

        Like

      • Of course not. But that is oversimplifying the situation. Your aunt could live a full life. What about cases where the woman finds out the fetus inside of her was going to die slowly and painfully shortly after birth? Should that baby suffer because abortion, which would be a quicker and more humane death, is murder?

        Like

      • Then why don’t we see those miracles happening? Why do we instead see these babies continuing to term with the problem and dying on the operating table? If God can and will heal these babies, why don’t we see that happening?

        Like

      • We do see these miracles happening! Everywhere. I know someone who is pregnant and she learned that her baby would be born with a birth defect. She and her husband prayed about it and on her next visit to the doctor, the problem had completely disappeared, the baby had been healed, with absolutely no explanation except the work of God. And you see people like Nick Vujiec (I can’t remember how to spell his last name) who have used their birth defects for so much good and to reach so many people. If God thinks that a child should die, then he will let that child die, but it is not up to us.

        Like

    • Veronica says:

      There’s a HUGE difference between “equal” and “the same” and it seems like no one can find the difference. Women being “equal” to men means that they get the same rights. That’s all. Men are made different with different responsibilities. Aka, responsibilities to lead, be the head of the house, etc. Men should be the leaders of church because they’re born leaders.

      Like

      • Equal doesn’t mean “the same.” But equal rights does mean that everyone has the same opportunities. That doesn’t mean that a person should get a job that they aren’t suited for in the name of equality, but it does mean that a less qualified man should not get a job over a more qualified woman because he’s a man and the job is in a male dominated field.
        Men and women are not as different as people think. Sure, more men may find themselves able to build muscle easier than more women, but that doesn’t mean that any given woman finds it more difficult to build muscle than any given man. That’s not how sex differences work.

        Like

  2. happilydpressed says:

    I had this friend once, she was on a break with her boyfriend. At the same time, my other friend, let’s call him Paul, had a crush on her. Now Paul isn’t a prince or anything, sometimes he can be an ass but he is a decent guy. While we were walking to class (in college) she started whining that her shoe was untied. Paul got on his knees and tied it for her. A few days later, I found them at a party and she asked him for a foot massage. He willingly took off her shoe and obeyed.

    I really didn’t care about him liking her and wanting to appease her. What pissed me off is that she expected it. And all my other friends thought it was normal. They said guys should do things for women. Well sure, walk me to my door when it’s dark and all, but tie my shoes? Once you et to the point of degrading another person, man or woman, it’s wrong. Everyone talks about equal rights but it’s bull shit. There are certain feminists that just thing women should be catered to. But then they contradict themselves and say we can be independent.

    I’m all for women’s rights, everyone’s rights really. But men need women and women need men. There is no one or the other. People need people. I don’t care what someone’s sexual preference is. There needs to be a balance. And we need to respect each other. I agree with you. There are certain roles that women will always maintain, and others that men should. I don’t like this whole thing where women are starting to expect to be treated like royalty but they wont even make their husbands a sandwich because the men should do it themselves. There needs to be a balance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What I find amusing about this is a I don’t really buy the story, but I’ll suspend my disbelief for a moment, as there is a larger problem. You focus on how this girl Paul has a crush on felt entitled and perhaps she did, narcissists happen, but this is not limited to women. Both men, women, and people of other genders can be narcissists. This isn’t anything new. There have always been people who thing they deserve things beyond the bounds of what’s reasonable. Sure the reasons why they say they deserve it changes generation to generation, but that’s not the problem the problem is some people feel entitled.

      When I read this story I read you painting a narcissist to be the representation of women fighting for equality, when really all you have is a narcissist with some lame excuse for their entitlement issues. This may not be your intent, but I bet it’s the conclusion many will be drawn too.

      Like

      • happilydpressed says:

        I am a woman. I am not narcissistic. I’m sorry you drew that conclusion from my story. My intent was not to offend anyone. I don’t believe all women are this way. Just telling a story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think that’s a little harsh, she was just drawing an example from a personal experience. You need to calm down a little. Did you read her last paragraph? Her point was that people just need people and both men and women have rights.

        Like

      • Harsh? Quite possibly, but as I’m speaking from a place of calm, calming down would be difficult.

        Oh I read her final paragraph, I do not take to kindly to that either give it enforces a heteronormative ideal, and ingoring the fact that many LGBT folks get long just fine with out the male/female dynamic including such notions as butch and fem coupling being more “normal.”

        I’m just pointing out problems with the story, but mostly the tone and the focal points and how it leads to multiple conclusions I don’t think are healthy.

        Like

      • Well LGBT is a whole different problem, with it’s own blog post, so I won’t touch that. But she said ‘people need people’ That seems pretty open to me. She also said that men and women have their respective places, which they do and that point just can’t be argued against logically.

        Like

      • Sure it can, but it can also be argue with with evidence to. Like we can get into reproductive stuff where male and females have some clear differences but once you move past a small handful of sex organs including the uterus (and even those are often quite fuzzy) you quickly lose all clarity.

        Like

      • I don’t mind confronting what I think is wrong and either do you I gather from your story ;). Thought I see nothing wrong with the confrontation and conflict of opposing ideas. Heck I don’t even have a problem with being wrong, so long as I quickly rectify why I incorrectly hold to be true. (Although it’s never a nice feeling)

        Like

      • happilydpressed says:

        You dont know me, so really your “gatherings” are just opinions. Like this girl’s post. These words are opinions of a Christian who was raised a certain way. With all of the people on this planet, I can promise you, that not every single one will agree with you. From your blog, I can tell you have your own opinions. Which isn’t in the least surprising, being I gather youre a human and all. But heck, I suppose I can be wrong and you could be something else. Who am I to know such things?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Alexis says:

    I mean, the point of the feminist movement is equality, not women supremacy. Its the equality to choose to be a stay at home mom or to choose a career. I think with any movement or group of people, there are people who misrepresent what the movement is all about (this happens A LOT in Christianity, like with Westboro, but even with people that preach subtle lies about Christianity). I think that before hating on feminism, you should do more research. Maybe look more into the movement itself. And try not to see the misrepresentation. It has its place within Christianity, even if a lot of people don’t think it does. And Im not saying I know everything about it, but Ive been paying attention and doing my reading as well as praying.

    Like

    • There can’t be equality though, and women don’t even really want equality, because we love it when men do things for us. Sure, I’m talking about feminism based on how media portrays it, because that’s how everyone else sees it. And there is truth in it. My post touches on the basics of it, I believe. I think women’s rights have small roles in the church, but only what the Bible says about it.

      Like

      • Alexis says:

        I think you should really pray about this because the idea that men and women aren’t equal isn’t biblical. Men and women may have different roles and different desires as God planned it, but we are equal. I’ll be praying for you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alexis says:

        I’m also going to add on to my reply “Different but equal”. As a fellow Christian, I want you to really be reading up on the equality issue and having some real good talks with the Lord. God calls me as your sister in Christ to discuss these important biblical issues.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, sorry, there’s been a miscommunication. Don’t worry, I believe that God created men and women to be equals in his sight, but not in the way that they are interchangeable, the way feminists today want equality. We do each have our roles and we have to remember those roles. Don’t worry, I’m definitely not saying that women should be catering to men or that men are superior in God’s sight, but we need to accept Biblical equality, not worldly equality.
        Is there anything else I can clear up? I don’t want you to have the wrong idea about my views! 🙂

        Like

  4. We serve a big God who can do big things. He doesn’t make mistakes. He didn’t forget to take circumstances into account. Just because we can’t see the big picture doesn’t mean He isn’t working all things together for the good of those that love Him. I’m sorry if Hessian’s god isn’t as capable. Every life has value.

    Like

    • Oh we don’t have a god at all, both us us under this handle reject the notions of gods as implausible at best and incoherent at worst, but if you think your god doesn’t make mistakes, fine, but he sure has a funny way of doing things with all this immense and colossal suffering in the world. Most of which came and past long before our ape ancestors where walking around. The mere harshness of the reality we live in draws into question many if not most of the claims made by many Christianity towards the good will of a creator. Should we even have one.

      Like

      • God didn’t create this world to be evil, but he gave man free will and Satan led Adam and Eve astray. God sent Jesus into the world to give us a way to be close to him again. Do not blame God for the cruelty and sin that the world pours upon itself.

        Like

      • Why not? Should any of that be true (which I don’t believe for a moment) they god created all the capisty for evil, god created satin, and allowed him to taint his creations. Why did god not guard the fruit of knowledge of good and evil is some manner? It’s quite clear in the fable that Adam and Eve did not know good from evil , right from wrong (it’s what they got for eating the fruit). Do you punish a child with jail for stealing an apple, do you banish them from you when they make a mistake they had no concrete understanding of?

        Like

      • I have to wonder what you are doing on a Christian blog if you have so little regard for her worldview. The logical assumption is that you are merely attempting to stir the pot so your comments are easily dismissed as shallow entertainment for bitter hearts. That being said, if you ever have a genuine desire to understand how to reconcile a loving God, Creator of man and ape, with this sinful, ugly world, the Bible explains it all beautifully. Until then, I’ll pray for you. I cannot imagine how hopeless life is without God.

        Liked by 1 person

      • “Bible explains it all beautifully. Until then, I’ll pray for you. I cannot imagine how hopeless life is without God.” Oh I’ve read much of the bible, and beauty and clarity isn’t really something it does well.

        But why bother talking to others outside my worldview, perhaps I’m not a fan of echo chambers? Perhaps I like to challenge and be challenged. There is much to be learn by questioning the words of others. Particularly when you don’t agree with those words.

        Like

      • “this sinful, ugly world” “I cannot imagine how hopeless life is without God.”
        You think our lives are hopeless, but you think the world is ugly and sinful? It sounds like you have more reason to be hopeless, because, while you are looking at all the bad and saying “look how terrible everything is,” we are looking at how much more good exists in the world than bad.

        Like

Whatcha thinking?

