Confessions of a Ninja Ballerina: Strength

I’m a ballerina. My legs are super strong, so are my feet.
But, my arms? Nooooot so much.
I’m woman enough to admit that when I first started taekwan-do I could barely do ten push-ups, and that’s only going half way down.
Needless to say, I wasn’t the most impressive person there.
Over about four years of TKD, I didn’t improve much, mostly because I avoided push-ups like plague.
But there was hope.
One of my coworkers, Aaron, started making the kids in the class we teach together do push-ups. Of course, I was expected to set a good example and do the push-ups too.
So, every week, twice a week, I would grudgingly sink to my knees, straighten my legs until I was on my feet, and stretch out into a less-than-fantastic push-up position. We would then proceed to do 10, disgusting, horrific push-ups.
I still didn’t improve much. Maybe I got through the ten grueling push-ups a little easier, but I still couldn’t go down too far.
Then I realized that I didn’t actually want to improve that much. I hated push-ups, so why be good at them?
Lately I’ve been pushing myself a little bit more. Going down just a touch farther and forcing myself all the way back up, no matte how hard. I won’t pretend it’s purely self motivation that propels me through my least favorite exercise at TKD. The teasing from the guys helps a lot. Besides Aaron, we have an army dad taking classes. He likes giving me a hard time about my push-ups, all in fun, but still. Drives me to show them that I can do push-ups too.
I have most definitely been improving though. I can get almost all the way down for the first five.
I suppose the only point to this blog post is that striving to do better at something is half the battle. If you don’t want to improve, you won’t.
So go do your push-ups like a man.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Ninja Ballerina: Strength

  1. Well, I always give up and try something new. I took up Ashtanga Yoga and injured my shoulder blade, gave up then took up a squat challenge, it wasn’t meant for me, then I went onto pilates, even if I am not a complete loser I will always suck at any form of exercise. Ha ha. 😀

    Like

Whatcha thinking?

