The Writer I Wish I Was

With my current reading list, I’ve come to almost idolize two writers who are completely new to me. Not the people themselves, but their flawless writing style.

These two writers are John Green and Ayn Rand.

ouch
Okay (hahahaha John Green joke. It hurts.) if you’ve read any John Green, I’m sure you’ve noticed his extensive, almost over-the-top vocabulary. Well I love it. I think it’s beautiful and charming and it added so much to the story for me. I loved his use of the English language, besides the cussing. I could do without that. Reading The Fault in our Stars was like reading poetry. Acceptable poetry.

Now, Ayn Rand is a completely different story. I’m reading Atlas Shrugged and I am constantly finding myself in awe of the woman’s genius. That’s the only way I can describe her writing. It’s bleak, and technical, yet so very descriptive. She thought of ways to describe characters that had never occurred to me before. She has created an entirely new scope of imagination for me.

atlas
I realize that, as a writer, I have to find my own voice, my own writing style. But if I could choose, it would be an equal mix between these two incredible writers.

Whatcha thinking?

