The Book Thief ***SPOILERS***

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

DO NOT READ THIS POST IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK THIEF

My review:

First off, the book was written beautifully. Story aside, the idea of Death narrating a book was absolute genius. It makes The Book Thief completely unique from any other book I’ve read. Some might say the writing was choppy or disjointed, but I think it flowed exactly how it was supposed to.

It definitely conveyed a certain feeling, from the first line of the book to the last, bold statement.

I cannot express enough how genius I think the whole thing is.

And the story itself… wow. This is not your average World War II story. It’s not about the Holocaust, or even about the Nazis specifically. It’s about Liesel. It’s about her world, her little world on Himmel, and how it was slowly, forcefully, expanded by the war. It’s about her friends, her foster family, and most importantly, her books. Her beloved books.

I don’t want to put too many spoilers in here, but I must say a few things.

Max Vandenburg. God bless his fictional soul. He was my favorite character. I simply adore Max Vandenburg.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love Hans, Rudy, and the main character herself, but Max just stole my heart.

Rudy… poor Rudy. Never got to feel his kiss from Liesel. That scene reduced me to a pathetic puddle of tears.

Again, I loved the book, though the language bugged me a little.

Please comment your thoughts on the book, I’d love to hear them 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Book Thief ***SPOILERS***

  1. V says:

    Literally just finished reading this. It’s a lovely book. Hans is my favorite character, but they are all very likable and believable. Death makes for a very compelling narrator.

    Like

  2. In an interview, I recall Zusak saying he wanted to write somebody’s favorite book (or everybody’s favorite book). I think he accomplished that goal with flying colors.

    Like

Whatcha thinking?

