Confessions of a Ninja Ballerina: Flexibility

It’s kind of hard being in both ballet and taekwon-do. I mean, they help each other in different areas, but they’re also super contradictory.

However, there’s one field that is the same in both arts; flexibility.

Oh, how I adore stretching. It’s wonderful, relaxing, and rewarding.

People hate me for it.

I don’t want to sound full of myself, but I’m the most flexible person in my taekwon-do school. Since I’m a black belt and I teach classes, I regularly put my students through a 10-15 minute stretching routine. I’ll be at the front, talking them through it and demonstrating. I’ll drop into full side splits with ease. Suddenly the room is filled with groans.

“Show off!”

“That’s not fair!”

“How do you do that?”

Every. Single. Time. I’m almost to the point where I’m ready to just talk them through the stretching so they don’t have to witness my flexibility.

Honestly, I shouldn’t have to repeat myself every class “It just takes practice. You can do this if you stretch at home.”

Are you flexible? Do you wish you were? Keep your eyes open for my next post; a short, easy stretching tutorial.

Whatcha thinking?

