The Midnight Society { part 2 }

A little while back I posted the first installment of the Midnight Society. I hope you enjoy this second part.

 

After our dance was over though, I didn’t talk to Jason Clyde again that night. I danced with two other perfect gentlemen, one named Justin, the other, Kameron. I saw Phoebe dance with several men including both Branden and Jason. I couldn’t help but wonder why Branden didn’t ask me to dance.

            Around 2 a.m. Branden stepped onto the musician’s stage to make an announcement.

“I believe this has been put off long enough. Those of you who were invited are probably wondering why.”

I felt Phoebe move to my side.

“Well I’m afraid I can’t quite tell you yet,” There were subtle groans from the few in the crowd that had been expecting answers, including me. “But, I can tell you this. As you know already, this is a society. An exclusive one. A dangerous one.” He paused long enough for me to whisper to Phoebe.

“What on earth is he talking about?” She just shrugged, still glued to the ruggedly handsome Branden.

“But if you’re up for it stick around. If you don’t have time, think I’m joking, or aren’t ready for some excitement and danger then I would ask you to leave.”

Someone scoffed in the back. “Are you serious?” A male voice called.

Branden gave him a cold stare. “Deadly.”

I heard shuffling. “Whatever. I’m out of here.” He left and was shortly followed by about a dozen other people, laughing about the ridiculousness of the party.

            Phoebe and I looked at each other. I had a feeling we were on the verge of something fantastic, life changing even. I wasn’t sure I was ready. Branden was a statue up there, the very picture of seriousness.

I saw the sparkle in Phoebe’s eye. She wasn’t leaving anytime soon.

So neither was I.

“Well that was over half our recruits. I guess that means my little speech was a success,” He gave the crowd a smile and there was chuckling from the members of the society, like it was an inside joke. I suppose it was.

“The rest of you will report here tomorrow evening at seven for initiation. Goodnight ladies and gentlemen,” And quick as that he was ascending the stairs.

“I guess that’s our cue to leave,” I said. Phoebe nodded, but she couldn’t take her eyes off the mysterious figure of Branden Gates. I pulled her out the door and to her car. We chatted about the guys we had danced with, the dresses the other girls wore, and we pondered what was so dangerous about the Society I think we had just joined.

I’m not positive I was ready to find out.

Whatcha thinking?

