Rainbows

When you see a rainbow, what does it mean to you? Is it just a happy splash of color after it rains? Maybe you think of gay pride, as many people do nowadays.

But do you think of God’s promise he made to the world?

That’s right, the rainbow is a symbol of God’s grace, his promise to never flood the earth again.

Genesis 9:12-13 says ‘ And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come. I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.” ‘

It’s super clear the rainbow is a symbol of grace and God’s love.

Not. Gay. Pride.

Sure, I get that the gay pride movement “needs a symbol”. But don’t steal something that used to be holy and turn into a symbol for blatant sin!

Sure, it’s a symbol, it doesn’t define our faith. No symbol does. But God was very clear when he said that the rainbow is a covenant between him and the earth. And any covenant with God is holy.

What other symbols have been horrifically misused by the public? Comment away 🙂

6 thoughts on “Rainbows

  1. happilydpressed says:

    I think about it all the time. But I don’t see the symbol being for blatant sin. I have nothing against the gay community. As long and no one is touching me, I’m good. I’ve been religious my entire life. I can tell you any story you want from the bible and it would probably be pretty accurate. So I know that according to that testimonial, homosexuality is a sin. But I’ve drifted from my faith and realized that if it makes people happy, let it be. I just hate that it has to be a whole segregation thing. If they would try to assimilate into society and not throw parades then maybe more people would accept it. It would be mundane. But this whole world is about separation. No one believes in a mixed community.

    To throw some out there a cross definitely has changed symbolic meaning with the gothic era, and vampires and crap. So has a fallen angel. Watch Supernatural and you can see for yourself what I mean. Love the show still. Angels and demons have changed in the media. They’re symbols are all mixed up.

    But people ruin everything. Nothing stays the same. And everything has multiple meanings these days. We can’t just look at the surface.

    Like

    • Well, if you’ve drifted from your faith, that would be why you’re okay with it. Really, it should be if it makes God happy, let it be.
      I’m slightly curious as to why you’ve drifted away your faith, if you don’t mind me asking.
      And I have no problem with the people of the gay community. It’s their sin that’s the issue.
      While the cross was popular in the gothic area and was occasionally misused, it still only symbolized the crucifixion As far as I know, the cross has never been manipulated to mean anything else.

      Like

      • happilydpressed says:

        I had pediatric cancer. I watched little kids wither away around me in the hospital. After seeing that, God didn’t seem to be around much anymore.

        And I know it’s not what’s in the Bible. But times have changed. The world grew from what it used to be. And if God is in all of us, then we should accept each other no matter the form. I feel like if Jesus were to walk the Earth again, he wouldn’t turn away the gay community if he accepted the leper colony. I’m not very religious tho, so please don’t take this as me going against you. Just my opinions

        Like

      • Oh yeah, I completely respect that it’s your opinion. Just like I’m expressing my opinion.
        Just because times have changed, doesn’t mean God has changed. He doesn’t change. Sin is still sin, no matter what sin it is. He still loves the gay community, as should the Christian community as well, but in no way is he accepting the sin as ‘ok’ because it makes people happy.

        Like

Whatcha thinking?

