Soul Mate

Soul Mate. The phrase brings to mind the whimsical, romantic, slightly ridiculous idea that there is one person in the whole world that you’re meant to be with. Kind of insane, right? But are soul mates real?

I recently read a blog post by Trusty Chucks (Mary) about this very issue. I did not agree with her position on the issue and I would like to state my own. Please understand that I’m not trying to bash on Mary, I’m simply reviewing her post and countering her arguments. Like a debate, except I’m the only one who knows about it…

First of all, though, I would like to ask you very kindly not to disregard my opinion on this just because I’m young. No, I haven’t had much experience in this field (though I’m pretty positive my boyfriend is my soul mate… just saying), but I’ve had good, and bad, relationships modeled for me throughout my life. And anyway, this is just an opinion piece. I hope you spend some time thinking about this is all.

Mary’s definition of a soul mate, however, was skewed. She believed that a soul mate is the non-existent person who would complete you, fill in the holes in your life in every way possible. The rest of her argument branched off of this theory.

I’d like to point out the dictionary defines a soul mate as a person, especially of the opposite sex, with whom one has a deeply personal relationship. Nothing about being completed, or doing the completing. And… well that kind of covers her argument.

Now, how about where God is concerned? Are soul mates Biblical? I believe they are. For one thing, God has only one person in mind for you to marry, not a dozen that you can choose from. I don’t know about you, but that sounds like a soul mate to me.

I believe soul mates are real in that sense. God has someone out there for you. He, or she, won’t be perfect, they won’t fill in all the gaps. You need God for that. But they’re meant for you. That’s your soul mate.

Please comment your opinions on this, I’m super curious to hear them 🙂

2 thoughts on “Soul Mate

  1. Yes😊 my better half was someone I had known for years. We were like oil and water initially. One day we ended up bonding over the fact that we both had read The Art of War. A flip got switched that day, and suddenly I just KNEW. ♥️♥️together almost 15 years.

    Like

  2. Moriah says:

    Something that was said at camp this summer really stuck with me. A lot of the time, adults, especially in the Christian realm, tell young people to not worry about who they’re going to marry, to wait until God brings the right man or woman into their life. But what does that really accomplish? Even if there was a command in the Bible saying, “Thou shalt not ponder the idea of marriage until thou art twenty-one,” (which there isn’t), that wouldn’t change the fact that we think about who we’re going to marry. And having people tell us not to focus on it, that God will bring the right person, just makes us (me, at least) feel a tiny bit guilty for fantasizing about someday being married. It seems as if I’m not trusting God to bring the right guy to me at the right time.
    But this summer, one of the most influential spiritual teachers in my life said this, and it makes a lot of sense: “God cares who you marry. In fact, He cares more than you ever will. He has someone for you who is worth waiting for. You may be wondering who you’re going to marry, worrying that you might make the wrong choice. You may not think that God cares; that kind of fretting is often looked down upon as immature and childish. But marriage is one of the most important decisions you’ll ever make, and God cares about who you choose.”
    While not directly related to the idea of “soul mates”, I think that this concept is very true. I think that we tend to see God as all-knowing, and shaking His head at our futile attempts and late-night agonizing over who we might marry. But He’s not. He’s right there beside us, feeling our heartache and sympathizing with our confusion. Yes, I do believe that He knows who I am going to marry, that I’m going to be the future Mrs. _______, and that my husband will be the right man for me. Right now I’m trying to focus on becoming a godly woman, not on searching for a man. I believe that God will eventually bring me together with my future husband. But God also cares about the path I take to finding my future spouse, and He stays beside me through the confusion, through the hormones and emotions, through it all, every step of the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha thinking?

