Aqua Streaks

I have so many random projects on my computer. Several don’t have much promise, but they’re still interesting. I hope you guys enjoy the little snippets I post.

 

      I wasn’t the only one staring. She was staring back. Big brown eyes gazing across the cafeteria in my direction. I didn’t recognize her. I didn’t even know she came to my school. But there she was. No one talked to her, no one acknowledged her. She was an outsider. Just like me.

“Chase,” My only friend at school nudged me. I turned to face him hesitantly, not wanting to break the trance that the girl and I had seeped into. “Whatcha staring at?”

            “That girl, I-“ I started to point her out to him, see if he recognized her, but she had disappeared. “Well she was there a second ago.”

 “Maybe your face scared her off,” He laughed. And usually I would’ve teased him back. But I intently searched the crowd, trying to spot the aqua streaked black hair. But it was completely out of sight.

            That girl was like breath on glass; one second she was there, and the next she was gone.

            “You didn’t see her, Ned?”

            “No… I don’t think so. What did she look like?”

            “She had aqua hair, kind of hard to miss.”

            “Huh. Nope, didn’t see her. Sorry buddy.”

            I don’t know what it was about her. Maybe the brooding expression. Maybe it was the way that she was invisible to everyone but me. Or maybe it was the way she was staring back, searching me for… something. I only knew I had to find her.

Whatcha thinking?

