Magic

I’m not really one for poetry, thought there’s some I can appreciate. But my favorite poet, of all time, is Shel Silverstein. Those of you unfamiliar with his work…. *shakes head* I’m sorry. Here is one of his poems:

Magic

Sandra’s seen a leprechaun,

Eddie touched a troll,

Laurie danced with witches once,

Charlie found some goblins’ gold.

Donald heard a mermaid sing,

Susy spied an elf,

But all the magic I have known

I’ve had to make myself.

I love this one so much because it explains why I write. Not for magic specifically, but for adventure. Through writing, I get to spend my days on a beach, in Ancient Egypt, with the guy of my dreams, solving a mystery. I can travel, be anyone, do anything. I create my own adventures, my own magic. Thank you, Shel Silverstein, for your wonderfully quirky poetry that actually relates to life.

3 thoughts on “Magic

  1. Moriah says:

    One of my favorite poems:

    Imagine this:
    A starry night,
    A scoundrel on a yellow bike,
    A hero with a tangled mane,
    Quick laughter from a passing train.
    A chase through fields,
    A honeyed breeze,
    A midnight search on bloodied knees.
    A teast, a taunt, a tilt of words,
    A battle waged with nouns and verbs.
    An endless stream of tales to tell –
    Imagination casts a spell.

    This is how I like to imagine my writing. Words are the tools writers use to sculpt and shape ideas into forms which we can share with others.

    Like

Whatcha thinking?

